RSS Feed

Recipe – Fig and Blackberry Crumble

Hello! Apologies for the lack of posts this week but I haven’t had much free time nor been at home. We are going through a pretty tough time family-wise at the moment so I have been staying with my parents for a couple of nights this week. I will probably write more about this at some point in the future but for now…onto today’s recipe!

I cannot get enough crumble at the moment and this recipe was so good I made it twice in one week, the first time with figs and blackberries and the second time with apples, blackberries and sultanas. I may even have had three bowls of crumble in one day but we won’t dwell on that!

crumble15

Ian and I picked these blackberries from the country lanes near our house last Sunday and I think the fact that we foraged these ourselves made me enjoy this pudding even more!

crumble2

As I was preparing to make a plain old blackberry crumble, I noticed that I also had a few very ripe figs sat in the fruit bowl and a lovely quote by Nigel Slater came to mind where he said that if nature delivers things at the same time then we should take the hint and use them together! I love this idea and if you think about the time of year that various fruit and vegetables are at their best then you will find that a lot of the produce will usually go very well together in a dish.

crumble1

I experimented a bit with this topping too by adding some ground almonds and also some desiccated coconut for a nuttier taste. These added a lovely flavour and texture but if you prefer to keep it plain and classic then just stick to butter, sugar and flour.

Ingredients

For the filling:

About 350g of fresh blackberries

4 figs, quartered

50g of caster sugar

For the crumble:

120g of butter, cubed

150g of plain flour

30g of ground almonds

30g of desiccated coconut

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

120g of light muscovado sugar

How to make it

  • Preheat your oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 4
  • Place the blackberries and figs in a large ovenproof dish and sprinkle over the caster sugar. I found 50g was the perfect amount to sweeten up  the blackberries without it being too sicklycrumble4
  • In a mixing bowl, rub together the butter and flour until they are the consistency of breadcrumbscrumble6
  • Add the ground almonds, desiccated coconut, cinnamon and muscovado sugar and mix wellcrumble5
  • Sprinkle the crumble topping over the fruit and lightly pat downcrumble7
  • Add a final sprinkle of sugar and bake in the oven for 30-40 minutes until the topping is golden browncrumble10
  • Serve warm with cream, ice-cream, custard or all three!crumble12

crumble14

I used the same method to make my blackberry, apple and sultana crumble but omitted the ground almonds and desiccated coconut and instead used 200g of plain flour.

crumble16 crumble17 crumble18

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

