RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – Sephora by OPI Nail Wraps

Well the summer holidays are officially over as tomorrow I get to meet my new class and begin another year of teaching…my 3rd one! I always sleep badly the night before a new school year and I’m sure tonight will be no different as I think about all the things I want to do with the children this year and all the little admin jobs I wish I had done at the start of the summer holiday as opposed to leaving them all to the last minute!

opi13

Today’s post is to share one of my favourite pieces of nail art. When I was in America over the summer, I obviously had to pay a visit (or two!) to the beauty mecca that is Sephora. While I was perusing the nail varnish aisles, I noticed these rather cool nail wraps from a collaboration between Sephora and OPI. I absolutely love the pattern and colours used…a very Jackson Pollock-esque splatter effect!

opi1

I haven’t used nail wraps for a little while, mainly because the last few sets I bought were pretty poor quality and either puckered on the nail or lasted about a day. So I was slightly apprehensive about using these ones but decided to pop them in my basket and last night I sat down to try them out.

One thing I notice straight away was that they are actually made of nail varnish – they smell like nail varnish and behave like it on your nails. They are really easy to use and adhere to your nail very smoothly.

opi3

Once I had removed the clear top layer and sticky bottom layer, I was left with a very thin piece of nail polish to place on my nails and then I simply used a nail file to tidy up the edges. It took me about 15 minutes to do all 10 nails and here is the finished look:

opi4 opi5 opi6 opi7

I LOVE these nail wraps and am kicking myself for not picking up a couple more packs while I was in the States!

I would usually apply a topcoat but I wanted to test the longevity of these wraps and so left them as they are and after two showers, a pretty hands-on day at school sorting my classroom out and cooking dinner, I can confirm that all 10 nails are looking good without any chips or puckering.

opi8

Right, I am off to watch Bake Off (love Tuesday nights now!) and hopefully get an early night so I am bright-eyed and bushy-tailed tomorrow morning! Good Luck to all my fellow teachers for the first few weeks back! xxx

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

