RSS Feed

Recipe – Peach Colada Cocktail

It has been a busy Monday here today but then again I think Mondays are all about getting stuff done! It was my first day back at school and I have to say it was a shock to the system getting up at 6:30am again. A few large coffees helped and the fact that the children don’t start back until Wednesday so I can ease myself back in gently.

At home, we had the builders arrive today to re-roof our utility room and do a bit of cosmetic work to the walls. Foolishly I spent last night cleaning the kitchen, including mopping the floor, which turned out to be a massive waste of time as there is now dust EVERYWHERE! I don’t like this messy stage of DIY but as soon as it is done, Ian and I can get on with the fun part of painting and adding the finishing touches to another room and tick it off the to-do list.

I feel like I have lost my DIY mojo recently but two of my friends have just bought ‘project’ houses and listening to them talk about all the things they want to do has given me a boost to get back into it so watch this space for some ‘before and afters’!

Today’s recipe is a little bit different as it is for a cocktail…why not on a Monday night?!

colada2 I had a fruit bowl full of ripe peaches and coconut milk left over from making some chicken satay and decided to have a play around and add some booze to the mix. I have called this a ‘Peach Colada’ as it reminds me of a Pina Colada except with the pineapple substituted for peach. To create this fruity, creamy cocktail for two people you simply need: colada4 colada6

  • 1 peach, de-stoned, skinned and chopped into chunks
  • Half a tin of coconut milk
  • 1 fresh lime
  • A good shot of rum – I used Captain Morgan Spiced Rum but you could use white rum too
  • Ice cubes

colada7 Simply pop the peach and coconut milk in a blender and whizz it up until it is smooth. Add the rum, squeeze in the lime, have a taste and if it tastes good (it will!) then serve over ice with lime wedges.

colada13

 

A tropical cocktail to savour the end of the summer! xxx colada16

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

