RSS Feed

The Snail Mail Collective – August

Am I the only one who can’t quite believe it is September today?! I start back at school tomorrow so my summer holidays have come to an end although I have to say I always get rather excited with that ‘back to school’ feeling of new stationary and getting to know a new class all over again!

I feel a bit slack starting a post on the 1st of September with the word ‘August’ in the title but I wanted to share a little blogger project I was involved with last month that I have only just got around to photographing and writing about!

I follow a lot of blogs over on Bloglovin’ and one of them is The Nectar Collective, written by the lovely Melyssa, an American girl living in Tokyo with her very cute dog Monja. Melyssa has put together the Snail Mail Collective, a fabulous way of connecting with bloggers all over the world. I signed up and was paired with Alessandra, a baker who lives in the Philippines and writes the blog Vanilla Wanderlust all about baking and travel; two of my favourite things!

Alessandra and I exchanged several emails and it was lovely getting to know her and sharing a bit about our lives. The idea of the Snail Mail Collective is to get to know the person you are paired up with and then send them a little package based on the month’s theme and for August it was ‘Where You Live’.

As you probably know, I love writing letters and sending little packages to friends and I also love receiving post that isn’t bills so this project was right up my street!

I busied myself getting together a few items for Alessandra and although there was a recommended $5 limit I did get a bit carried away filling the package!

We were asked to include a letter or postcard in our package so I used these cool postcards that were included in a recent Birchbox. Alessandra and I both talked a lot about travel so I thought these city-themed postcards were ideal.

snail1

I spent ages trying to think about something I could send from Bath to represent my closest city but I kind of reinterpreted the idea and sent a few things that represent me and my home because that is really what I blog about.

I sent over some pretty vintage-style striped straws, hot chocolate, some posh face cream, an Essie nail varnish and a cute lipgloss – I know I would love to receive a package like this!

snail2

I received the package from Alessandra upon my return to the UK after our honeymoon and it was a lovely surprise! She included a postcard of her favourite nearby beach (how amazing would it be to have somewhere like this on your doorstep?!) and 6 pretty locally-made coasters which I am already using.

snail3

Overall, this was a great project to be involved in and I would recommend it to fellow bloggers if you have an interest in different cultures or simply want to meet some new people…I’m already looking forward to doing this again!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. Hi hannah!!!! so happy you liked the coasters. I’ve been a lazy blogger, i haven’t blog about my package from you yet. Need to get my blog groove on! lol Take care!!!!! ;-p

    Reply

Leave a Reply

