RSS Feed

Recipe – Peach and Goats Cheese Tart

I am staying with my parents for a few days this week so it has been lovely to relax and have some proper family-time before I go back to school next week. As well as enjoying some excellent fish and chips on the beach, I have been cooking, catching up with people and I had a wander around town and the farmers’ market with my Mum this morning.

20130829-155950.jpg 20130829-160138.jpg

20130829-160146.jpg tart20 tart19 tart14

We have also got into the naughty habit of a little cocktail with our lunch and after searching for a bottle for weeks I finally found the Blackberry and Elderflower Pimms so we had a glass of that mixed with lemonade today and I can confirm it was delicious!

tart15

Today’s recipe may sound a little odd to some but trust me when I say this combination really works. The sharp goats cheese complements the sweet and juicy peaches and it was a delicious dinner served with a warm broad bean and chorizo salad (which I will also post the recipe for soon).

tart10

There are very few ingredients involved which makes it perfect if you want something quick and easy for lunch or dinner. I think I will serve this as a starter the next time I have friends over for a meal.

Ingredients

tart2

1 peach, de-stoned and sliced

A packet of puff pastry (sometimes life is too short to make puff pastry from scratch!)

About 100g of soft goats cheese

A pinch of thyme (I used the dried stuff but fresh would be better)

A drizzle of olive oil

A splash of balsamic vinegar

How to make it

  • Begin by preheating your oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 4
  • Score your pastry into the size and shape tart you want. You could go all arty and do circular ones or even mini ones but I wanted to keep mine quite rustic so I opted for rectangles
  • Lay your peach slices onto the pastrytart3
  • Add your chunks of goats cheese on top
  • Season well and sprinkle over the thymetart4
  • Drizzle over some olive oil then pop into the oven for 15 minutestart6
  • Take your tarts out and splash on some good quality balsamic vinegar and bake for another 5-10 minutes or until the pastry is goldentart8
  • Serve warm and enjoy!tart9
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

