RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – Exmoor Cooking Company Take Away, Porlock Weir

20130829-155950.jpg

20130829-160106.jpg

20130829-160130.jpg

20130829-160138.jpg

A slightly biased review today as I went for dinner earlier this week at the restaurant my Dad works at.

The Exmoor Cooking Company Take Away is nestled at the bottom of the picturesque Porlock Weir, which can be slightly tricky to find if you aren’t a local but is so worth the journey!

Firstly, the location is just stunning. There are a few tables outside and some nearby benches if you want to overlook the bay or you can just climb down onto the rocks if you want your fish and chips on the beach.

Next up, the food…

Being a seaside takeaway, there is obviously the usual fare of fish and chips and the ones here come beer battered with triple cooked chips and homemade tartar sauce which I think are lovely touches. My Mum opted for this dish and it was delicious. The cod was beautifully cooked and the batter was light and not too greasy.

The reason I love this place so much is that for several evenings a week, there is also an amazing oriental menu available. The owners of this restaurant are Malaysian so there are no ready-bought curries here and the ten oriental dishes on offer are great value.

I had what my Dad told me is their signature curry (passed down through generations of the owner’s family), the Malaysian Beef Rendang, which was another generous portion and so tasty. Malaysian flavours remind me of Thai food a lot and this curry was the perfect heat for me. It is a coconut based sauce with delicious tender beef chunks in it and my Mum very generously shared her chips with me which were lovely dipped in the sauce!

This restaurant is slightly off the beaten track but if you are in the area then you won’t regret a visit here both for the pretty location and the great food…and say hello to Ronnie in the kitchen if you do pop in!

20130829-160146.jpg

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

