RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – Purple Roses

This week I was testing out a new Essie nail varnish that I bought in San Francisco. I couldn’t believe what a bargain Essie polishes were over there so I of course stocked up!

rose1

I bought the shade Go Ginza which is a beautiful pale lilac colour. I think it is a very clean and fresh colour and looks great with a tan (which I unfortunately don’t have!)

I was a bit worried about the formula of this after the first coat which dried very patchy and streaky.

rose3

But after a third coat, it looked perfect and dried to a very even finish. I have nail varnishes from a variety of brands but Essie remains one of my favourites.

rose4 rose5

In fact, I have another new shade from them on my toes at the moment too – a bright coral colour called Braziliant.

essie1 essie2

I wasn’t planning on doing any nail art this week and was quite happy to just wear this lovely new shade alone but I couldn’t sleep yesterday and found myself wide awake at 5am so I thought a cup of tea and a bit of nail painting would go down a treat!

I have done roses on my nails before but I decided to stick to a purple theme this time. For this look I used three shades: Frozen Yogurt by MUA, Lilac by ELF and Prickly Pear from the Barry M Gelly range.

rose7

First of all, I used the middle shade of Lilac and a dotting tool to draw some large circles on my nails.

rose8

Once these had dried, I used the darker shade of Frozen Yogurt and a very fine nail brush to draw some abstract letter Cs.

rose10

Finally, I used the lightest shade of Prickly Pear to add some highlights.

rose11

I finished the look by painting on some small leaves using Rimmel’s Green Grass.

rose14 rose15

I sealed my nails with a layer of Seche Vite and this ensured my nails had a smooth and even finish. I cannot recommend a clear top coat enough when you do any sort of nail art. Not only will it make it last longer but it also smooths any lumps and bumps that can happen when you are using different brands of nail varnish which will inevitably all have different formulas and finishes.

I only did my left hand because it was so fiddly and I just don’t have a steady enough hand to attempt this nail art on my opposite hand! However, I am very pleased with the finished result and think the colour combinations work well with my new Essie shade.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

