RSS Feed

Beauty Review – August Birchbox

I received this month’s Birchbox a few days after we got back from holiday but am only just getting around to testing out the goodies inside. Here was my first peek:

birch16 birch17

For August, Birchbox have teamed up with InStyle magazine to create a collection of products with a ‘Summer Nights’ theme. Although it is grey and overcast here today, I am hoping this Bank Holiday weekend will be warm and we can enjoy a few more balmy evenings in the garden!

First up, a Birchbox Gel Mask. Retailing at £10, this is meant to be kept chilled in the fridge ready to use to reduce puffy eyes. I definitely wouldn’t pay £10 for this but can see myself using it occasionally…it may be the perfect hangover remedy!

birch11

Next, an LAQA&Co lip pencil. I have already professed my love for chunky lip crayons and this deep red will be a great addition to my collection! I received the shade ‘Ring of Fire’ and I am really impressed by how pigmented it is and how soft and moisturising it feels on my lips.

birch12

birch22

birch13

One of my favourite inclusions in the Birchbox packages are the moisturisers. Over the past few months I have discovered some absolute gems (Hello Elemental Herbology!) and this month’s offering is the SkinLife Energetic Cellular Cream from Bluemandarines. I haven’t heard of this brand before but it has a lovely fresh scent and is a light and refreshing moisturiser.

birch23

Molton Brown is one of my favourite ‘treat’ brands and this Ylang-Ylang Body Wash smells amazing. I like to keep these sample sized bottles for weekends away.

birch1

Next is another product from Gerda Spillman. I received their facial serum in the April Birchbox and really liked it so I’m hoping this ‘Hydro Pearls’ Moisture Lotion is just as good. It smells divine and is recommended to be used after moisturiser as a primer before applying foundation. So far, I have found this to be a lovely little product.

birch2

This Philip Kingsley Elasticizer has been hailed as a ‘Hair Saviour’ and I know this brand is highly recommended. I love a good hair mask and can’t wait to try this one out.

birch5

Finally, a product from Inner Me supplements that I probably would never have thought of buying myself but one that is intriguing. I received a two week trial of ‘Lustrous Locks’ supplements which claim to contain all the vitamins needed for healthy, shiny hair. I try to remember to take my daily vitamins but have never tried any specific beauty ones so I will report back if I have any success with these!

birch3 birch4

Overall, I am really impressed with this month’s Birchbox, especially after last month’s slightly disappointing offering. Apart from the eye mask, which I think is a bit of a ‘filler’ product, I will definitely use all of the other items, particularly the lovely lip pencil which has made its way into my make-up bag already!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

