RSS Feed

School’s Out For Summer!

Yes, we have finally broken up for the summer holidays which means I can switch off thinking about school and focus on getting ready for our American adventure!

I don’t really talk too much about my job on here as I don’t like to mix my professional and private life and it’s also not that appropriate, given that I work with children, to be talking about the highs and lows of my days online.

It is however a very strange time of the year for me, and teachers everywhere. I am still relatively new to the profession but I always find it very hard to say goodbye to my class. However I do love the fact that in September I will have a brand new bunch of children to teach and it’s like starting your job all over again once a year, wiping the slate clean and I feel like I am constantly learning as I go.

Of course, it is truly wonderful to have such a stretch of time off and I realise how lucky I am to have such great holidays in my job…and I intend to make the most of them!

Unfortunately I achieved very little yesterday spending most of the day in bed with a hangover (will I ever learn?!?!) but today I am busying myself with laundry, packing and lots of other last minute holiday jobs before we leave. I also have booked myself in for my first ever spray tan tomorrow!

I have a couple more posts scheduled before I go but then will be off the radar for a couple of weeks. I was going to get myself really organised and sort out some posts to publish when I was away but that’s not really my thing. I like to write in the moment and keep my blog content very current although I will probably be updating my Instagram feed with photos of our travels…and I can guarantee I will bombard you with holiday posts upon my return! x

ps – apologies for the lack of photographs in today’s post…having some technical issues!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

