RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – Waterfall Nails

TFI FRIDAY!!! Did anyone else mutter this to themselves on the way home too?! I usually enjoy the last week of term but this weather is making work a real struggle at the moment. I’m not sleeping properly so feel exhausted and the heat is making both me and the kids very irritable. Ha, so British of me to start a post off by talking about the weather!

wf20

For this week’s nails, I wanted to try out a trend that I am seeing more and more of – waterfall nails. These are basically different coloured stripes which cover about two thirds of your nails and it meant I could try out my new nail brushes.

I got these from ebay for a couple of quid and they are so handy for different types of nail art.

wf1

 I decided to go for a purple themed look this week so had a rifle through my nail varnishes and decided on these shades:

wf2

I began with a lovely nude base colour on all my nails in Innocent by ELF. This is a great nude colour for pale types like me and has a pink-purple hue to it too meaning it complemented my chosen colour palette.

wf4

Once the base colour had dried, I started on my first colour, Ultra Violet which I picked up on a whim in Primark. I decided to start with the darkest colour first as a sort of guide for the other colours. Unfortunately, I get very shaky hands so the lines weren’t quite as defined as I was hoping for!

wf12

Next was Prickly Pear by Barry M which I painted on the left of the darker stripes.

wf13

Finally I used Lilac by ELF, a pastel colour, which I painted to the right of the darker stripes to complete the look. I only had time for two nails this week but if I did this again I would set aside the time do all ten fingers as I think it is a very fun and wearable look.

wf16

I sealed the manicure with a layer of Seche Vite and there you go!

wf19

Have a great weekend! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

