RSS Feed

Recipe – Ricotta and Pesto Stuffed Mushrooms

It’s my last full week at work before the summer holidays and I am finding the work/life balance pretty tough at the moment. On the one hand, it is the last week with my current class which I want to make the most of, but I am also itching to get into full holiday mode and start packing!!!

Today’s recipe was created by accident last week when I was trying to make a light supper whilst Ian was at football practice. I fancied mushrooms on toast but decided to jazz them up a bit with a few ingredients I had in the fridge.

I think these mushrooms would make a perfect starter for a dinner party served with a salad and some crusty bread, or as a light lunch or snack like I enjoyed them.

Ingredients

A dozen mushrooms, with the stalks removed

Olive oil

Three tablespoons of ricotta cheese

Two teaspoons of pesto

A clove of garlic, finely chopped

A sprinkling of fresh Parmesan

How to make it

  • Begin by preheating the oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 4
  • In a large ovenproof dish, drizzle some olive oil then place the mushrooms in cap-side downmushroom1
  • In a small bowl (or the ricotta tub if you want to save on washing up like me!) mix together the ricotta cheese, pesto and garlicmushroom3
  • Spoon the ricotta mixture into the mushroomsmushroom4
  • Top with a sprinkling of Parmesanmushroom5
  • Bake in the oven for about 20 minutes or until the cheese is goldenmushroom8
  • Serve warm with salad and crusty breadmushroom9
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

