RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – Glitter Gradient

I had a week off from doing my nails last week. I felt they needed to ‘breathe’ for a few days and so I left them naked and applied lots of lovely nail creams and oils to get them looking strong and healthy again.

Today, I have two new nail varnishes to share with you and a new nail technique I have tried and failed at in the past, but seem to have nailed now (pun intended!)…the Glitter Gradient.

First up, the base coat. This milky white nude shade, Mod in Manhatten, by Color Club is the perfect nude for summer months although I can see it looking slightly better with a tan. I wasn’t sure of this colour at first but now I love it and it looks so clean and fresh on your nails.

glit1 glit2

My next new nail varnish was actually a gift from a colleague. Grosvenor Gardens by Nails Inc is a 3D varnish absolutely packed full of glitter. The different sized pieces of glitter and hexes are mainly pink and purple shades, with some silver and green pieces to complement.

glit5 glit11

To achieve the gradient look, there are two main steps.

Firstly, apply a thin coat of glitter to the top two-thirds of your nails. I tried to not get too many of the larger glitter pieces on my brush here but a few won’t hurt.

glit13

When this layer has dried, paint the top third of your nail with the glitter. I made this quite a heavy layer, full of glittery pieces!

glit7

Even out the manicure with a good layer of Seche Vite topcoat and you are good to go!

glit9

I love this dipped glitter look and want to try the reverse of it with the gradient starting at the cuticle next time.

glit14

I have had several people ask if these are a trial for my wedding nails. I haven’t really thought about that yet (although I better get these finishing touches sorted soon!)…I may keep things a little simpler on the day, although bright red nails are also tempting me!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

