RSS Feed

Latest Purchases #32 – Clarkes Village Haul

Yesterday was a Mum and Daughter shopping day! We met at Clarke’s Village, a lovely little outlet shopping centre which is kind of in the middle of where both my Mum and I live. We both left ourselves plenty of time to get there as it is located right next to Glastonbury and we weren’t sure what the festival traffic would be like but, apart from seeing some tour buses trundling down the country lanes, it was pretty much business as usual.

Our main aim of the day was to find my Mum a dress to wear for the wedding next month in Vegas. About 40 dresses later and lots of photos on my iPhone, I am happy to report that we found ‘the one’ and that is a big tick off my to-do list!

Here we are celebrating with an ice-cream!

cv3

Although we were there for the Mother-of-the-Bride outfit, I couldn’t help having a little look for myself and thought I would share a few things I picked up!

Some new Levi jeans for Ian.

cv11

Black tights. Yes, I know it’s summer but these were nice M&S ones and I am sure we will have a chilly day thrown in for good measure soon enough!

cv12

A pretty nightie from M&S. I have been sweltering at night recently and so a nice lightweight nightie is just what I need to stay cool.

cv13

Neon socks. These are for running as I seem to be getting through socks at quite a pace at the moment!

cv14

Sun Lotion. This looked like a good SPF for the record temperatures currently being recorded on the West coast of America!

cv6

Navy chinos. I pretty much wear dresses to work every day and in a bid to mix up my work ‘uniform’ a bit, I bought these cool chinos which I plan on wearing with a stripy top and sandals.

cv7

New suitcase. After seeing what little regard baggage handlers pay to your suitcases, I refuse to spend a fortune on luggage but I was in need of a new case for America. This one ticks all the boxes for me but I will tie a bright scarf around it so I can spot it on the baggage belt!

cv8

These teabags were bought by my Mum for Ian. He has been suffering with a sore ankle and blisters and has been soaking his feet after a run. These Lemongrass and Peppermint scented teabags are meant to infuse in water to help you relax and revive tired feet.

cv5

With this purchase, we got a sachet of the most delicious sounding hot chocolate…I plan on having this tonight!

cv10

Finally, not strictly a purchase but as it is my Mum’s birthday next week, I decided to treat her to lunch during our day out. We chose to eat at Prezzo, an Italian chain, and I was really impressed with the food and other little touches, like serving our drinks in iced glasses and having nice linen napkins.

cv1

We went for five small plates from their sharing menu: a carbonara risotto, a macaroni cheese baked with spinach, mushroom crostini, two mini calzones and the most amazing arancini, which are crispy little balls of risotto. These were the highlight of the meal and I would have to order them if I dined here again!

cv2

Overall, it was a lovely day of shopping and a bit of girly time with your Mum is always special. I wish my Sunday had been as fun as my Saturday but I am in the midst of writing reports and trying to get everything done with work before the end of the academic year…wow, where did that year go?!

cv9

Ian and I have attempted homemade pizza tonight so expect a recipe soon! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

