RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – The Muddy Duck, Monkton Farleigh

Last night, Ian and I were planning on popping up to our local for our usual Friday night drink when we realised that we had yet to eat at the pub since its rebranding. It’s still pretty much the same pub to us but never one to turn down the offer of eating out, I agreed it was our neighbourly duty to check it out!

It was really busy when we arrived so we sat at the bar for a drink while we waited for a table. I really love the makeover the interior of the pub has had and it feels so much brighter and welcoming now.

duck1

The menu has been updated too and I love seeing how much local produce is on there!

We started with a small plate of Bath Pig chorizo, chipolata sausages and tiny onions to nibble on.

duck2

For our mains, I had the fish stew and Ian opted for the burger.

My fish stew was absolutely amazing! Crammed full of flavour, this tomato based stew contained clams, prawns, white fish and squid, topped with dollops of aioli and crusty bread. I really enjoyed this and it had so much seafood in it I think it was really good value for money. I can see this dish becoming a regular order of mine!

duck3

Ian’s burger was pretty impressive too! Served in a brioche bun and topped with two lovely onion rings, the burger was big and juicy and topped with melted blue cheese, relish and pickles. The triple-cooked chips were OK but I have to say I’ve had better.

duck4

Overall, it was a lovely end to the week/ start to the weekend and a delicious dinner too. If you are in the Bath area, I highly recommend a long walk followed by a meal at The Muddy Duck…try the fish stew! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

