RSS Feed

Cider, Piñatas and Owls

It’s a very quiet and relaxed affair in our house tonight as Ian and I are both feeling rather ‘delicate’ after our weekends! He spent his on a stag do, mine was at a cider festival, so no doubt we will both be having an early night to recharge our batteries ready for work tomorrow.

Ian left on Friday so I had the evening to myself which I love every now and then. I spent the night catching up on my favourite blogs, painting my nails, drinking red wine and watching Cruel Intentions, which I haven’t seen for years but which was every bit as good as I remember!

I had a very surreal start to the day on Saturday as my first job was to stuff this donkey (or maybe it’s a llama?!) piñata which I had bought for my best friend Lu’s birthday celebrations this weekend. I found the whole stuffing process rather disturbing, especially when you see where I had to make the hole!!!

cider3 cider4 cider6

Piñata stuffed and other presents wrapped, I headed over to Bristol to see the birthday girl and we went over to Ashton Gate for their annual cider festival. Weirdly, the first thing we did when we walked through the door was a spot of owl handling…quite random for a cider festival but the little man that I held was incredibly cute!

cider9 cider10

We spent the next few hours, drinking our way through various West Country ciders (my favourite was Lilley’s who are based in East Somerset) and treated ourselves to a hog roast and a cheese board for good measure too.

As we were going out to a BYOB restaurant that night, we decided it would be a great idea to get a keg of cider to take with us, although the huge box we bought did end up defeating us!

cider7

Lu’s housemates decided to surprise her with a personalised cake and I love the look on her face when she sees it!

cider13

Finally, the blindfold was put on and it was piñata time! I have several brilliant videos of this but luckily for Lu I haven’t yet figured out how to edit and upload these onto my blog!

cider15

So, after a rather full on Saturday, my Sunday has been very chilled out with endless cups of tea and a little nap thrown in there too. I can see it being somewhat of a struggle to get up when my alarm goes off tomorrow morning but a few yawns is worth it for an awesome weekend with your bestie! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

