RSS Feed

A Spot of Shakespeare

Last night, Ian and I went along to the Manor House down the road to watch an open-air performance of Shakespeare’s Antony and Cleopatra. There have been signs around our village for the past few weeks and I was really looking forward to it.

I did have plans to make the most amazing homemade picnic with freshly baked bread, delicious salads and a pudding but this week has been so busy that I had to resort to a ‘supermarket picnic’! I popped bagels, smoked salmon, cream cheese, pork pies, posh yogurts, cheese straws, apples and a bottle of good red wine into my basket on the way home and grabbed a big blanket too.

cleo6 cleo9

We walked down the road to the Manor House, which hosted our village fete a few weeks ago, and enjoyed our picnic, sat next to the fountain in the evening sun.

cleo15

cleo1

Soon it was time for the performance so we took our seats, topped up our wine glasses and sat back to enjoy the show. The setting was stunning. As our village is off the main road it was so peaceful and accompanying the actors was the sound of birds and the occasional cow in the next field!

In the interval, I was ready for more wine but as soon as I spotted the cake stand I had to have a slice with a cup of tea! #rocknroll

cleo3

I have to admit that Antony and Cleopatra isn’t my favourite Shakespeare play, but I did really enjoy this modern adaption of it and I couldn’t fault the actors.

cleo4

Overall, it was a great evening with good food, wine and a bit of culture…and it didn’t rain!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

