RSS Feed

Recipe – Courgette Brownies

I go through food obsessions where I get really into one type of food, use it almost daily in different recipes and then all of a sudden have enough of it – does anyone else do this?!

Recently, it was courgettes. My favourite way of serving them was lightly sautéed in garlic as a side dish but these veggies made their way into pasta, soup and other recipes until suddenly I’d had enough of them. However I still had several to use up so I had a go at these Chocolate Courgette Brownies.

courgette6

These two ingredients may not sound like natural partners but they produce a lovely, moist cake. I sold mine at our village fete and I am pleased to say every last one was snapped up! (My Mum even spotted a guy eating one and went up to ask him what he thought! Hehe)

courgette7

Ingredients

300g of caster sugar

125ml of vegetable oil

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

250g of plain flour

50g of cocoa

1 tablespoon of bicarbonate of soda

A pinch of salt

250g of grated courgettes

50 of milk chocolate, roughly chopped

How to make it

  • Begin by preheating your oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 4 and grease a brownie tray
  • In a mixing bowl, add the sugar, oil and vanilla extract and mix well
  • Now add the flour, cocoa, bicarbonate of soda and the salt
  • Finally add the courgette and then the chocolate chunkscourgette2
  • Spread the cake mixture into your tincourgette4
  • Bake for 25 minutes (so the brownies are still soft and gooey inside – cook for 30 minutes if you prefer them a little firmer)courgette5
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Hi,

    We’ve recently launched the website Alldishes.co.uk. It’s a search engine that aims to gather all the best recipes from UK and Irish websites and blogs. We’ve noticed that you have a lot of great looking recipes on your blog that we would love to feature on our site. To read more about how it all works and to sign up with your blog, please visit http://alldishes.co.uk or send us an email on info@alldishes.co.uk. We look forward to hearing from you!
    Kind regards,
    Senka

    Reply

Leave a Reply

