RSS Feed

Beauty Review – June Birchbox

It has been a rather grey and rainy weekend but we have managed to pack a lot into it as usual. Yesterday, we drove up to see Ian’s parents and grandparents and had a lovely lunch out. I also picked up my wedding dress from Ian’s Mum which has now been altered and fits perfectly.

birch4

I spent today with my best friend Lu, gossiping, shopping and sorting out her bridesmaid dress for Vegas. We popped into the new TKMaxx in Bath and I was amazed at some of the brands they are stocking: Halston Heritage, Chloe, Calvin Klein and Stella McCartney to name just a few! I think I will have to pay this shop another visit after payday!

I was quite restrained today but I did pick up a few bits and bobs which I will share later on in the week!

On Friday, I was very pleased to see my monthly Birchbox package waiting for me when I got home. I still love getting this surprise each month and June’s selection was another good haul.

I noticed straight away that the packaging has changed slightly and instead of the usual bright pink box and bag, they were in much more muted colours.

birch15 birch17

This month’s theme is Festivals. When I was younger I was a festival addict, usually going to Download, Glastonbury, V and Reading most years. I loved the camping, the music and general atmosphere of them although never got used to the ordeal that was the portaloos!

I’m not going to any festivals this year, but I am a fan of keeping my make-up routine as quick and simple as possible which was the aim of this month’s product selection.

First up, I noticed these lovely postcards. I will definitely find a use for these and I think they are a nice inclusion in keeping with the travel theme.

birch10 birch19

Here was my first look inside the box:

birch11

Item number 1 this month is Beauty Protector’s ‘Protect and Detangle’. This product is designed to detangle, add shine and also offers UVA protection which is great as we often forget about our hair in the sun. This smells amazing but unfortunately the nozzle of my bottle doesn’t work so I am awaiting a replacement before I can review it properly.

birch12

Next, is a Factor 15 sun lotion from Green People. The size makes it perfect to pop into your handbag so you are never caught out when the sun finally returns! Being blonde and very fair skinned, I usually wear a higher SPF than this but this also includes a tan accelerator to boost your colour so I will definitely give it a go. It also smells lovely and natural…much better than the usual supermarket selection of sun creams.

birch14

Another face product came in the form of Carole Franck’s ‘Fluide Fraicheur Phyto-Hydrant’. I hadn’t heard of this brand before but the sleek packaging looks good and this lightweight moisturiser claims to keep your skin hydrated and can be used in place of a primer too.

birch5 birch6

I was intrigued when I saw this next product and I cannot believe no one thought of this design before! I can never find my eye pencil sharpener when I need it but this eyeliner has a built in sharpener in the lid…genius!

birch7 birch8

This Model Co eyeliner came in black, which is perfect for me, and looks to be very highly pigmented, which bodes well for its staying power.

birch1

Finally, I was excited to see two Color Club nail varnishes included. This is a brand I have heard lots of good things about and I received one neon and one pastel shade, London Calling and Mod in Manhattan. I love both of these colours and am pleased I don’t have anything similar in my collection either. I haven’t swatched these yet but I am sure they will make their way into my weekly manicure soon!

birch2 birch3

Overall, another good Birchbox delivery and I am already looking forward to July’s! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

