RSS Feed

Our Village Fete

It was the Monkton Farleigh Village Fete yesterday. The whole day was just perfect and reminded us why we moved here and love it so much!

My Mum and brother came to stay with us this weekend so I was on bacon sandwich duty on Saturday morning, complete with a sneaky glass of Pimms!

fete11 fete12

After brunch, we donned our sunnies, grabbed a picnic blanket and walked up the road to the manor house. We were greeted by the sounds of a band playing and set up camp nearby.

fete24

fete3

The manor house, fountain and grounds looked beautiful in the sunshine and there were lots of stalls dotted around selling plants and books and various activities to have a go on like archery, goat riding, crockery smashing and skittles.

fete19fete22fete4fete2

We positioned ourselves perfectly between the Pimms, hotdogs, ice-creams and cake stalls!

fete5

I went a bit mad on the book stall and came away with a good stack to see me through the next few months.

fete25fete21

I also made some courgette and chocolate brownies for the cake stall and couldn’t resist popping over to see how well they were selling…I am happy to report all were sold within a few hours!

fete26 fete27

We couldn’t have been any luckier with the weather and I have to admit I was quite jealous of the children who had a water fight in the fountain as it looked a fun way to cool off!

fete9

We headed back and after a bit more time in the garden, wandered down to one of our local pubs to finish the day with a good dinner.

fete1

It was such a lovely day and I feel I can start this week off knowing I definitely made the most of the weekend, spending most of it outside with either a cake or cocktail in my hand!

fete15

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

4 responses »

  1. Thanks for commenting on my blog today. 🙂 Looks like you had a lot of fun on Saturday too! What a lovely village to live in. We live nearby in Batheaston. I also loved the book stall, though stopped myself at five books since we were walking back. I got the Bill Bryson book too!

    Bonnie Rose | A Compass Rose

    Reply
  2. This looks so lovely!! I love village fetes, and I’m so pleased your brownies went down well! Your bacon sandwiches look DELICIOUS too! xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

