RSS Feed

Recipe – Creamy Avocado Pasta

On Wednesday evenings, Ian plays football and doesn’t always make it home for dinner before he goes out. I don’t mind too much as it means I get to cook myself dinner and use all the ingredients that he isn’t keen on, like peppers and mushrooms.

Tonight, I was trying to decide what to have when I spotted these beauties on the windowsill.

avocado1

I love avocados but there is nothing worse than having an unripe one so I was very pleased to give these a squeeze and find out that they were ready to cut open. I plan to make some guacamole for the weekend with a few of them but I wanted to use one for dinner tonight to try out a new recipe.

avocado2

A while ago, I saw a recipe for avocado pasta but never wrote it down. It stayed at the back of my mind though and I was eager to try and make my own version. Mixed with garlic, chili and lemon, the avocado makes a beautiful creamy sauce and I finished mine off with goats cheese to add a bit of sharpness.

avocado3

I loved this combination and it is definitely going into my ‘quick and easy dinner’ repertoire! The below ingredients were for one serving so just double or triple the recipe as needed.

Ingredients

A handful of spaghetti (enough for one person)

1 ripe avocado

1 clove of garlic, crushed

Salt and pepper

A pinch of dried chili flakes

A squeeze of fresh lemon

A few snippets of fresh parsley

A handful of hard goats cheese

How to make it

  • Begin by adding your pasta to a pan of boiling, salted water and cook until al dente
  • In a bowl, scoop out the flesh of the avocado and whip it up with a fork
  • Add the garlic, salt, pepper, chili and lemonavocado4
  • Mix well then have a taste to see if the flavours are balanced. Add some more seasoning/ lemon/ chili if needed
  • Stir through the parsley
  • When the pasta is cooked, drain it then add it to the avocado mixture and toss togetheravocado7
  • Serve with a sprinkling of goats cheese and enjoy!avocado8
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Sunday Catch-up #3 | hannahhotcakes

  2. Pingback: Recipe – My Revamped Avocado Pasta | hannahhotcakes

  3. Pingback: Recipe – Bacon and Avocado Risotto | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

