RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – Leopard Print Foils

Good morning

I had a meal out and a good catch up with two of my oldest friends last night which was just what I needed after such a miserable rainy day! My progress on my latest DIY project is painfully slow. I am using a hot gun to strip off layers of old paint from our stairway and bannisters and it is so fiddly but I just keep reminding myself how much better it will look when it is finally done!

hall

As I was going out last night and my nails were a mess after working all day, I gave myself a quick manicure. I am still working my way through my new MUA nail varnishes and this week was the turn of this lovely pastel pink shade called Amaretto Crush.

I like this colour a lot and I only needed two coats so the formula isn’t bad either.

I also decided to try out my new nail foils from Le Glow. I have used some products by this brand before and was always impressed so I had high hopes for these nail wraps.

foil6

I bought a set of their silver leopard print design and followed the instructions which were to trim them, stick them on, file your nail around the foil and then finish with a clear top coat.

foil5

Unfortunately these did not live up to expectations! The first set I tried to put on just would not stick at all. I decided that this was probably my fault as I had just applied an oil based cuticle treatment and there must have been some residue oil left behind.

After washing and drying my hands, I tried again…and they were not really much better! Although the photos look fine, the foils were very difficult to lie on my nails without any puckering and when I applied the top coat, it seemed to make the puckering worse!

foil3

I didn’t have much time before I had to leave so I just left them for the evening but by the time I got home after dinner they had started to peel off!

foil2

Overall, I like the effect of the foils and the colour combination of pink and silver but I’m afraid these wraps get a big thumbs down from me.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

