RSS Feed

A Beautiful Bank Holiday Weekend

For the second time running this month, we have had sun on a Bank Holiday Monday! I don’t want to jinx the rest of the afternoon or anything but it has been absolutely gorgeous and we have definitely made the most of it. I almost don’t know where to start with all the photos and stories but I’ll just start writing and I’m sure it will all come together!

On Friday after work, Ian and I drove up to our friend’s parents’ house, who were the most wonderful, welcoming hosts all weekend. The weather on the motorway was horrendous, driving through blinding sunlight one minute and torrential rain the next, but we made it in one piece and met our friends, catching up over an Indian takeaway.

The next morning, we were up and out after a fry-up (can you sense there is a foodie theme this weekend?!) and caught the train into London. We headed to the Natural History Museum, which is one of my favourites in the city. We spent a few hours here, having a wander through the exhibits, dodging the pram brigade and taking in all the stunning architecture.

bh39 bh40 bh41 bh42 bh43

Afterwards, we split up from the boys (who had a London pub crawl planned!) and had a spot of afternoon tea and cakes. This was much needed after we made the silly decision to tackle the stairs at Covent Garden station!

bh44 bh45

bh35

After we had refuelled, we headed to La Duree for our macaroon fix (I tried Rose, Salted Caramel and ‘Marie Antoinette’) then our favourite pastime…shopping!

bh33 bh34

We wandered around several markets and an amazing sweet shop and I couldn’t resist this lovely sausage dog print scarf!

bh32

bh1

Then it was over to the river to walk through Borough Market and along the Thames in the sunshine. There was so much going on and it felt so cosmopolitan that you could have been in almost any European city.

bh24 bh25 bh47

bh29

bh30

bh27

Having visited Wahaca on my last trip to London, I really wanted to take my friends there too so us girls arrived in time for some cocktails before the boys arrived.

bh48

bh49

bh22

As expected, the food was incredible! Fresh, vibrant flavours and it was great to see the menu updates and try some new things, including cactus!

bh50

bh51

bh52 bh53

This time, I made sure to leave some room for dessert and this dulce de leche tart was so sickly but delicious!

bh54

We headed back that night tired, full and happy.

The next day, Sunday, we headed to Cambridge. I had never been here before so was looking forward to seeing the colleges and getting to know a new city. As the sun was blazing, we decided to go punting on the river. This was so much fun (once we got the hang of it!) and we got a great view of the bridges and different university buildings…with only a few collisions on the way!

bh7 bh8 bh9

bh10

bh13

bh18

bh19

bh2

We even found a Pimms boat and thought it would be rude not to have one…

bh5 bh6

After our adventures on the river, we had a wander around the city, stopping at a food market and making a quick ice-cream trip too. Cambridge was really lovely, albeit quite touristy.

bh56

bh57

bh3

We finished off the weekend with a fabulous dinner of roast lamb and many bottle of wine, although I drew the line at shots of Serbian brandy, kindly brought back for us by my friend Lucie!

We are home now and plan to spend the day pottering around the garden, waiting for Ian’s parents and dog, George, to arrive for the night. I am praying this weather continues over half term as I am feeling fully in the holiday spirit now!

I hope you have had a wonderful Bank Holiday Weekend, full of food, friends and sunshine too! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

