RSS Feed

Baking Review – Betty Crocker Cake Mix Part 3

The final post in this three-part series on cake mixes involved baking some muffins!

swirl13

A box of Blueberry Muffin Mix was turned into Blueberry and Coconut Muffins with the addition of some desiccated coconut to give another flavour and texture.

The first thing to surprise me was the tin of blueberries I found insidethe box. For some reason, I thought it would include a packet of dried blueberries ready to rehydrate in water or something along those lines but instead there was a tin of lovely little berries in a sweet syrup.

photo (23)

Like the other two boxes, this mix was no different in terms of ease to make and the batter looked and smelled lovely as I spooned it into the cupcake cases.

photo (19)

Unfortunately, the paper baking cases I received in this box were really squashed so I binned them and used some of my silicone cases instead to bake the cupcakes.

These rose really well in the oven and were lovely and golden brown when I took them out.

photo (17)

The little blueberries were lovely and sweet to eat and the coconut flavour was subtle yet it complemented the vanilla-based cupcake.

So that brings me to the end of my Betty Crocker project and I have to say that I really enjoyed all three cake mixes!

Beforehand I was slightly snobby about using these mixes, feeling as though it was almost cheating, but it was refreshing to see that it was still really easy to personalise and put your own twist on the different cakes.

swirl10

Overall, I think these cake mixes do serve a purpose. It seems as though it is very hard to get them wrong so they are handy to have in the cupboard if you are an inexperienced baker or you want a quick and easy cake made within minutes!

betty5

Given my cookbook addiction, I will of course continue to try out new recipes from scratch and tweak my own recipes too. There is something very relaxing and satisfying about starting right at the very beginning of a cake recipe, measuring out and creaming butter and sugar, finishing in a lovely cake…with the occasional baking disaster every now and again to keep you on your toes!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

