RSS Feed

Baking Review – Betty Crocker Cake Mix Part 2

This week I have decided to write a few posts reviewing some Betty Crocker cake mixes I have tried recently and today I am moving onto some cupcakes!

swirl12

I love anything toffee or caramel flavoured so I had to try this box out. However, I had a feeling that the caramel cupcakes plus caramel icing may prove to be slightly too sickly so I adapted this to make salted caramel cupcakes! Yes, I realise this only means adding a bit of salt but it made all the difference and almost intensifies the caramel flavour by reducing the tooth-aching sweetness.

betty5

As expected, these were super easy to make and I had no issues with the cake or icing mix. I decided to leave the cupcakes alone and added a pinch of sea salt to the icing. My advice is to do this bit by bit because you can always add more salt but it is very difficult to un-salt icing!

betty2

Included within the box were these lovely marble-effect chocolate buttons and I also added some white chocolate stars I had in my baking cupboard.

betty8

The only negative about this baking kit was the fact that the cupcake cases came out of the box rather squashed and misshapen. This affected the shape of some of the cupcakes slightly so I think if I bought these again I would probably use my own paper or silicone cases. On the plus side though, I did love the red and white polka dot cases they provided – usually its plain old white!

betty1

These cupcakes looked great and were lovely with a cup of tea but they were very sweet and herein lies one of the problems with buying ready-mixed packets – you have no control over the amount of sugar being added…although it probably didn’t help that I drizzled dulce de leche over the cakes too!

betty7

Tomorrow is the final part of this mini-review and I will try to collate my thoughts on these ready-made cake mixes. Meanwhile, my parents are staying with us and my Dad has made his famous ribs, pulled pork and rice for dinner so I am having a night off the diet to indulge! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

