RSS Feed

A Day in the Life #1

Today I thought I would try out something I have seen several other bloggers do which is to share their day using photographs taken on the hour, for every hour they are awake. I quite like gaining a little insight into other people’s lives in this way so yesterday I snapped away on my iphone throughout the day. I tried to be very honest with my pictures, rather than picking styled scenes or doing something unnatural when my hourly alarm beeped!

I picked a fairly typical Saturday which included a lie-in, some pottering, some shopping and a meal with friends which descended into tequila-fuelled fun! Unfortunately my phone ran out of battery half-way through the evening so several red faces have been saved…

10am: I woke up a little before 10 and read a couple of chapters of Atonement in bed with a cup of tea brought to me by Ian!

day2

11am: Time to get up and get clean! These are my current favourite bathroom products. The TIGI range is brilliant for anyone with curly hair and I love almost anything in the Soap and Glory Range. I am also loving Superdrug’s Pink Grapefruit and Tea Tree Facial Wash. It isn’t a high-end brand but the smell is amazing and its fabulous first thing in the morning to wake you up.

day3

Midday: The excitement of opening and testing out my monthly Birchbox delivery and a bit of blogging.

day4

1pm: Lunch followed by the difficult decision of tea or coffee whilst I measured up our kitchen walls ready for new tiles. Cue balancing dangerously on kitchen surfaces and praying the measurements are correct!

day1

2pm: Popping out in sandals with the sun on our faces.

day5

3pm: New tiles and grout…watch this space for our Kitchen Makeover!

day8

4pm: Soundtrack to our drive and one of my favourite bands

day7

5pm: A spot of baking – Blueberry and Coconut Muffins to take over to my friend’s house later.

day9

6pm: The field at the end of our road – I love where we live! We headed over to Bristol for a curry with friends.

day6

7pm: Poppadum Mountain

day11

8pm: I love BYOB restaurants!

day10

9pm: Feeling immensely stuffed, we wandered to the pub for a few drinks

day12

10pm: The beginning of the end…Tequila shots!

day13

Luckily for some, that is where my photo diary ends until we got home at 2am!

I hope you enjoyed today’s post. I thought it would be interesting to document my day in this way and I liked the way it forced me to be creative on the spot and find a shot to sum up what I was doing at the time.

I have a couple of baking posts coming up this week where I am testing out some different ready-made cake mixes. Not great for the diet but I enjoyed tasting the results and trying to put my twist on the recipes!

Right, its Sunday which means our Sunday Roast is in the oven (a joint of gammon this week) so I am off to help Ian in the kitchen! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

