RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – Half Moon Manicure

This week I wanted to recreate a vintage-style manicure that is really popular nowadays. I love this half-moon effect that began to gain popularity in the 1930s and it has become somewhat of a signature look for Dita Von Teese.

I wish I had a steady enough hand to achieve this effect with a thin paintbrush but I have to use a little cheat in the form of my nail tip stickers. I was pleased to see that not only could these be used for that French manicure tip but also over your cuticles to achieve this half-moon effect.

There are no rules or limits on your colour combination but I think you need to choose a really good quality and well-pigmented shade for the little half-moons. Firstly, so you only need to do one layer and secondly so that you don’t have a big bump on your nail bed where one shade ends and the next one starts!

moon3

I decided to try out another shade from my recent MUA haul and chose this pretty mint green shade. I’m still not convinced by the formula of these polishes. The first layer seemed to look dreadful!

moon4

However, I am finding that a second layer seems to provide sufficient coverage and the formula seems to settle over the nail quite well. This shade was quite chalky and slightly matte in its finish so I would definitely use a top coat with this.

moon6

When this base coat was completely dry, I positioned my curved nail sticker

moon2

Painted on my colour (a bright pink by ELF)

moon10

I allowed a few seconds for it to sort of set then peeled off the sticker whilst the polish was still wet.

moon9

I like this colour combination as it feels quite summery…some would argue it is completely inappropriate given the fact we have had rain, wind and even snow here this week!!!

moon15

A quick layer of topcoat seals this look and gives it a nice shine.

Now this effect is in my repertoire, I am looking forward to experimenting with different colour combinations and will share any winners on here!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

