RSS Feed

Recipe – Cheesecake Stuffed Strawberries

Like almost every British blogger will do today, I am going to start my post by mentioning the glorious weather we have enjoyed! The words ‘Bank Holiday’ and ‘sunshine’ don’t seem to go together very often so when we do get a sunny weekend, we definitely make the most of it!

strawb1

Ian and I decided to spend as much time as possible outside in the garden, giving it some much needed TLC so he mowed the grass whilst I removed as many weeds as possible…teamwork!

strawb3

I love drying our washing outside on the line

strawb17

The whitest legs in the South West

strawb16

As you probably know, I like to eat outside as often as possible and today we had our lunch on the picnic bench at the bottom of the garden, listening to the horses in the field behind us.

strawb6

We had fresh melon and Parma ham

strawb9

Freshly-cut French baguette and butter

strawb8

The ubiquitous savoury eggs (!)

strawb7

Fresh anchovies in a lovely vinaigrette

strawb4

All washed down with a bottle of shandy! These little bottles are one of my favourite summer drinks and I always keep a few in the fridge. Gone are the days where I can drink beer or cocktails all day long and not be asleep by 4pm so these lovely little drinks are a kind of halfway house!

strawb5

And for a pudding, I made these cheesecake stuffed strawberries. Now, I LOVE cheesecake. It is one of my favourite desserts and I am counting down the days until we can go to The Cheesecake Factory when we are in Las Vegas this summer. However, I am trying to eat as healthily as possible at the moment and so this recipe is a sort of deconstructed version of a strawberry cheesecake coming in at about 50 calories per strawberry.

strawb18

Ingredients

strawb19

A punnet of fresh strawberries

Half a tub of cream cheese (full fat works best, I found the low-fat version slightly too runny)

3 tablespoons of icing sugar

Half a teaspoon of vanilla extract

2 digestive biscuits, crumbled

How to make it

  • Begin by prepping the strawberries. Chop off the top and then use a sharp knife to cut out the white inner part of the fruit, leaving you with a hollowed-out strawberrystrawb22
  • It’s a tiny bit fiddly but once you have done a few, you really get the hang of itstrawb21
  • Next, make the filling by mixing together the cream cheese, icing sugar and vanilla extract until smooth and creamy
  • Then you can either fill the strawberries yourself ready to serve or have all the ingredients ready for your guests to put together themselves.strawb11
  • Spoon, or use a piping bag if you want full marks for presentation, the cream cheese mixture into the strawberries then sprinkle over the crushed biscuit to topstrawb12

As we were eating lots of finger food for lunch, I decided to leave the 3 elements to this pudding in separate bowls and put them together as we went…much more fun and hands-on if you are serving this with friends!

strawb14

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

