RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – Magnetic

First of all, I wanted to say thank you to all my family and friends who sent me such lovely messages following my blog post yesterday. We completed our US visas tonight (both approved – phew!) so things are well on their way now!

My parents are staying with us for a couple of days this week and my Mum brought me a new nail varnish:

magnet11 

This is one of the Barry M Magnetic Nail Varnishes in the shade Magnetic Burgundy. I have been wanting to try these for ages, ever since I bought a crap Poundland version a few months ago that just didn’t work!

As you have probably gathered, I am always game for trying out a new nail varnish effect and although I wasn’t sold on the colour of this, I couldn’t wait to give it a go.

Following the instructions on the bottle, I painted one thin layer onto my nails and allowed this to dry.

magnet8

The next step had to be done one finger at a time, painting on a thicker layer of the nail varnish and then holding over the magnet, which is in the lid of the bottle, over the nails for a few seconds.

magnet7

magnet10

Once the magnet has worked its magic, you should be left with a cool, stripy pattern on your nails.

magnet6

The effect is much clearer on my thumbs but you can definitely see a difference in colour on every nail and the polish has a lovely glossy finish.

Overall, I do like this nail varnish and I would buy it again in another shade. I think this deep red just feels a bit dark for this time of year but I am off out for dinner tomorrow night and it will look good with the dress I am planning to wear!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

