RSS Feed

We’re Eloping!

I know true elopements are meant to be more secretive but I write a daily lifestyle blog so there was no way I could keep this piece of news to myself!

We are getting close to the 2 year mark since Ian proposed to me on my birthday whilst we were camping next to a lake. The subject of weddings has popped up from time to time but neither of us has ever felt the need to rush this. We have been together for almost 10 years now and have long been a part of each other’s families, so never really felt like we were waiting for a wedding to change things between us.

Las Vegas has been at the back of my mind since we got engaged as I always knew I wanted a small, intimate wedding. We also went there a few years ago and had the most amazing time.

27966_387610076719_1078714_n 27966_387610046719_6601661_n

For a while I started doing what I thought we should do when it came to weddings and I looked into getting married in Bath, followed by a reception on a canal boat but it just didn’t feel right or ‘us’ so that was scrapped.

I soon discovered that I just don’t have the ‘bride gene’. You know, the one where a wedding slowly takes over your life and that’s all you can manage to talk about…come on, we all have a friend who turned into a bridezilla at some point!

Then, quite frankly, we had more exciting things on our plate than planning a wedding. I trained to be a teacher, went to teach in Spain, got my first teaching job, we bought a house, had holidays and life just kind of got in the way!

316678_10150335349156720_769558968_n

Yet still the Vegas suggestion kept popping up and after months of talking about it, we decided to bite the bullet and sort it out!

So, we have booked a week in Las Vegas with our parents, my brother and my best friend to get married in a little white, wooden chapel then Ian and I are off on a road trip through Death Valley and Yosemite National Park followed by a week in San Francisco!

untitled

While I’m sure my preparations will pop up from time to time on here, I wanted to assure you this won’t become any sort of wedding blog obsessing over napkins, orders of service and flowers – unless I’m talking about the ones from my own garden, of course!

As it stands, we have about 3 months until we go so I am on my wedding dress diet and have a few items to tick off my to-do list but I am concentrating on the fun side of things and making lists of the all the places I want to visit and restaurants I want to eat at when we’re away!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

3 responses »

  1. This is so cool! The most important thing is definitely doing what feels right to you- and clearly you have gone with that! So excited to hear more about this 🙂 xx

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Our Wedding Day 31.07.13 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

