RSS Feed

Recipe – Creamy Asparagus Pasta with Lemon and Parmesan

Our weekend started on Friday night with a walk in the sunshine, which included discovering a new little play park near us, a quick pint in the local pub then a good film.

asp1 asp2 asp3

Saturday was spent having a good spring clean of our wardrobes. We both own a ridiculous amount of clothes but Ian found it relatively easy to donate a load of stuff to the charity shop whereas I found it as painful as pulling teeth! I found a pair of heels I bought in my first year of university (almost a decade ago now!) and have only worn once yet still I could find several reasons to justify keeping them for another ten years! Luckily, I had Ian there to be my voice of reason and I managed to have a good clear out.

In the afternoon, we headed out to watch the Liverpool match (6-0 yeah!) then had a naughty bag of chips on the way home smothered in salt and vinegar!

Today’s post is celebrating one of my favourite vegetables that is now in season and tastes absolutely delicious, the humble asparagus.

Traditionally matched with hollandaise sauce, it is tempting to simply enjoy asparagus grilled but it can be pretty versatile and is a lovely addition to this dish.

In order to keep this pasta recipe fresh and spring-like, I added some lemon zest and a good squeeze of lemon juice which cuts through the creaminess and just gives this the perfect balance of zing, cream and cheese!

If you wanted to add some meat to this dish then pancetta or chicken would be very tasty.

Ingredients

Enough pasta for two people (I used two different coloured fettuccine)

A good glug of olive oil

1 small onion, chopped

A bunch of asparagus, snapped into thumb-sized pieces

A small tub of crème fraîche

1 lemon (you will need the zest and juice of half of it)

Salt and pepper

A good handful of Parmesan cheese

How to make it

  • Begin by cooking your pasta in boiling water
  • In a separate pan, heat the olive oil and lightly fry your onion for about 5 minutes until it has started to soften
  • Add the asparagus and cook for another few minutesasp7
  • Mix in the crème fraîche and lemon zest and stir until you have a sauce.
  • Now you need to have a taste and season it accordinglyasp6
  • Add the pasta to the sauce and ensure it is coated in the sauce
  • Squeeze over the lemon and stir through a good handful of Parmesan
  • Serve with some more Parmesan and enjoy!asp4
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Sounds like a great weekend- and that pasta is perfect for this time of year, may have to give it a go in the week! 🙂 xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

