RSS Feed

Beauty Review – April Birchbox

I am someone who loves getting things sent to me in the mail so I was very excited when I got home last night to find this pink box waiting for me. This is only my second delivery of a beauty box and I have decided to give it a 3 month trial before deciding whether to continue my subscription or not.

april15

This month’s theme is ‘Spring’ and even if the weather isn’t quite there yet, we can still come out of hibernation and pamper ourselves ready for warmer weather and (whisper it) bare legs!

So, I haven’t had a chance to use all of them yet but here is a quick insight into what I received this month:

april11

La Société Parisienne De Savons Soap

april1 april16

april2

I have to say that I have mixed feelings over this product. I love the vintage art-deco inspired French packaging and I could smell this product as soon as I opened the box so I know it is well-perfumed but I am just not a huge soap fan. I much prefer shower gels and creams so as pretty and as lovely-smelling as this product is, I am not sure if I will really use it. However, if one soap was to change my mind it could be this one because it smells really fresh and vibrant and I think it will look lovely on my bathroom shelf!

Green and Spring Relaxing Shampoo

april10

This shampoo looks great and is right up my street taking inspiration from the British countryside. It smells lovely – very botanical, and straight away you can pick out the herby rosemary and fresh grapefruit scents. I will definitely use this but I am a bit of a weirdo in that I really like to use a matching shampoo and conditioner so I have had a quick look online to buy the conditioner too so I can trial these as a set! Strange I know but I will probably hang onto this until I have the pair!

Birchbox Mirror

april17

april9

I am always looking for pretty handbag mirrors and this is lightweight, a very cute design and will be going straight into my makeup bag…there’s not really much more you can say about a mirror, is there?!

Mirenesse Glossy Kiss Lip Stick in Perfect Kiss

april22

april23 april24

I gave a little ‘ooooh’ when I saw this as I am a big fan of chunky lip pencils at the moment and I liked the look of this one straight away. Retailing at £17.50, this feels really sturdy and the packaging is very pretty. I got the shade Perfect Kiss and I think this is a lovely warm pinky red colour with a light gold shimmer when applied. It is well-pigmented and you can build up a nice colour. It smells very faintly of vanilla and is a rich creamy formula so doesn’t dry out your lips. I would definitely purchase another colour in the range.

Weleda Skin Food

april26

april3

Only recently did Victoria Beckham confess her love for this skin cream and I realised what a cult product this moisturiser was! I had planned on trying out a bottle soon so I was really pleased to spot this in the box! It has a very rich and thick consistency and it may just be me but the smell really reminds me of gin and tonic with a slice of lemon in! I have used this on my hands after doing the washing up and they feel immediately softer although the smell it leaves behind isn’t the most pleasant. But hey, if it’s good enough for Posh then I shall persevere!

Gerda Spillmann Renaissance Age Serum

april19

I realise that I am now falling into the age bracket where age is a factor in the products I am choosing! I am a real frowner (as Ian and my Mum often tell me!) and I can see some very faint lines starting to appear near my eyebrows so the last beauty product I bought had some anti-wrinkle qualities to it – you can never start too soon!

Anyway, the magic ingredient in this one by Gerda Spillmann is edelweiss so cue me singing the famous Sound of Music tune as soon as I read this! This is a beauty serum to be used alongside your moisturiser so I will start applying it before bed and let it work its magic!

So, there you have it. I think I prefer this month’s box to the one I had last month and looking at the cost of each item I still think that if you do spend a chunk of your wages each month on trying out new products then this is a good way of getting some high end stuff for a much cheaper price with the element of surprise thrown in!

Before I go, I must share these pictures of our friendly neighbours with you. I think these cows are beautiful animals and they came right up to the fence as I was walking past so I had to get a few snaps!

april4 april20

april21

april6

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Must Have Boxes

    That mirror is absolutely adorable! I just posted the review of my April Birchbox on my blog too :).

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

