RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – Ombre

Hello. I am feeling absolutely shattered today and it’s only Tuesday which doesn’t bode well for getting through the rest of the week!

We had a lovely weekend of not doing very much but I am not sleeping very well at the moment so feeling shattered when I get home. I hate feeling so tired in the evenings because it means I don’t feel like writing and usually I find it really relaxing.

Today however I wanted to share my latest manicure with you. I decided to get a bit ambitious with my nails this week and attempt an ombre nail effect. There are lots of tutorials online for different gradient effects and after reading some of them and watching a few tutorials on YouTube I combined a few different methods to achieve the below effect.

As you need to mix two different coloured nail varnishes, I thought it would make sense to use two from the same brand or range so that they had a similar consistency and coverage.

ombre26

I picked up these two shades from H&M a little while ago and have only just got around to trying them out. I love the pretty pastel shades, Turquoise and Darling Pink but the fact that they are from a collaboration range with Hello Kitty doesn’t really matter to me, although I think the packaging is lovely.

ombre24

To copy this look, you will need:

ombre23

  • Your two chosen shades of nail varnish
  • A topcoat
  • Cotton pads and cotton buds
  • Nail varnish remover
  • A piece of plastic (I used a sandwich bag!)
  • A simple bathroom or kitchen sponge
  • I would also recommend using a toothpick

Begin by painting your nails in the lightest shade. I used the lilac colour and really liked it. The coverage was quite thin but I thought two coats would be enough for this effect as I was adding another layer afterwards.

ombre22

Next, paint a good amount of each colour on the plastic

ombre20

Use a toothpick to carefully mix the two shades

ombre19

Dab your sponge over the two colours and gently dab them onto your nails. I thought it would look best to have the darker colour on the tips of my nails.

Your fingers will look a mess at this stage and, like me, you may end up with nail varnish everywhere but I am sure neatness comes with practice!

ombre18

Use a cotton bud dipped in nail varnish remover to tidy up the area around your nails.

ombre17

This isn’t a very smooth finish when you first do the sponging so I would recommend one or two top coats to seal the look.

ombre14

I found that my topcoat also blended the two colours well and smoothed the nail for a lovely finish.

ombre9

Et voila!

ombre1 ombre2

Ombre nails in my new Hello Kitty shades. I think this colour combination is very cute and quite ‘Disney’ but I have to say for a first attempt I am very pleased with the gradient effect!

ombre3

There is obviously an endless possibility of colour combinations and I can’t wait to start experimenting!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. Those shades are both so cute for spring and i love the design you’ve done! I have just started up my own fashion blog and have just done an article on urban outfitters watches, it would mean so much if you could check it out and maybe even help spread the word if you like it 😛 Thank you xx http://www.mylittlelifeoffashion.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

