RSS Feed

Before and After – Dining Room

Today, I wanted to share another ‘Before and After’ of our house and this time it is the dining room. It is actually an open plan kitchen-diner but we haven’t started retiling the kitchen yet so I will just be showing you the dining room. With the completion of my recent Dresser Makeover, I think this room is pretty much how we want it. I would still like to get some more art on the wall and it is my plan to start hunting through picture frames in charity shops to create a mismatched gallery wall.

Here is the ‘Before’ picture from when we came to view the house.

Ian and Hannah's house011

As you can see, it is painted quite a dark green, there is quite a bit on the walls and a large desk and piano in the corner. It doesn’t look as though it is a particularly functional room and it is definitely not a dining room which I think is really important to have.

February 2012: We sat in here on the first night we moved in, drinking tumblers of red wine and eating my Dads’ lasagne feeling absolutely shattered after moving!

IMG_0810

March 2012: We only had a very small table to begin with but made do as we began to unpack and settle in.

IMG_0882

May 2012: We re-glossed the doors, fitted some lovely new door knobs and started undercoating the walls.

IMG_1444 IMG_1583June 2012: A few more layers of undercoat were applied but as you can see this room was becoming a bit of a dumping ground!

IMG_2129 IMG_2704

IMG_2131

July 2012: This room became my new project once I broke up from school for the summer holidays. We had lots of paint sample books and were going back and forth between colours until one day I was in B&Q and spotted this beautiful duck egg colour (which wasn’t on the list of colours we liked!) and I made a snap decision and bought two pots!

IMG_2724

I was slightly nervous as I was applying the first coat but I soon fell in love with it and it brightened up the room instantly.

IMG_2725

August 2012: With the walls painted, I started on the skirting boards. One thing we noticed when we moved into this house was how unfinished everything was. Here is an example of the paint job by the previous residents:

IMG_3008

See what I mean?! Needless to say, this sloppy finish annoyed me daily so I couldn’t wait to sand it down and repaint it a clean fresh shade of white! I also repainted the ceiling and coving in white.

dining43

My vintage chandelier arrived and Ian’s Dad fitted for us:

IMG_3019

I gave an IKEA wine rack a new lease of life:

IMG_3157 IMG_3160

My Dad ripped out the old, cheap-looking white plastic shelf and made me a set of three shelves, which I love!

IMG_3091 IMG_3101

IMG_3195 IMG_3210

January 2013: After hosting Christmas and a New Year’s Eve party, I gave the rather battered looking radiator a quick makeover:

rad4

February 2013: Next, was the turn of our dining room table to get a quick paint job:

table16

March 2013: My new floral bunting went up:

bunting10

April 2013: I painted the kitchen dresser which is my favourite piece in the whole room:

dresser7

We also hung our new blackboard:

dining35

And my mini spice cabinet was put up and offered a handy place to store my oven glove and aprons:

dining24 dining26

There you go!

dining27 dining28

dining31

dining38

dining34

dining23

It is now a fully functioning room where I spend most of my time. I tend to blog and do a lot of my school work at the table and my favourite thing to do here is obviously eating, preferably with friends and family and lots of good food and wine!

dining36

Here is the final ‘Before and After’ shots, taken from roughly the same position:

dining32

Ian and Hannah's house011

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

