RSS Feed

Recipe – Espresso Cupcakes

Good morning! The sun is shining today so I am determined to make the most of it by pulling on my wellies and heading off on a big country walk, probably followed by a nice pub lunch too!

It’s great to start the weekend with a big cup of coffee and these coffee cupcakes are the perfect accompaniment. There is coffee in the cupcakes and icing so you get a double hit of the good stuff!

coffee11

Ingredients

For the cupcakes:

110g of butter or margarine at room temperature

110g of demerara sugar

120g of light soft brown sugar

2 eggs

125g of self-raising flour

120g of plain flour

Half a teaspoon of vanilla extract

1 tablespoon of instant espresso powder

125ml of milk

For the icing:

150g of butter or margarine at room temperature

1 tablespoon of milk

1 tablespoon of instant espresso powder, dissolved in some boiling water

300g of icing sugar, sieved

How to make it

  • Begin by preheating your oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 4 and line a cupcake tray with cases
  • In a mixing bowl, cream together the butter and both types of sugar until light and creamy. You can do this by hand or by using an electric mixer
  • Add the eggs and mix well
  • In a separate bowl, combine the two flours and in a mixing jug combine the vanilla extract, espresso powder and milk
  • Now start combing them one third at a time. Begin by adding one third of the flours to the creamed mixture and mix well. Now add one third of the milk mixture and combine.coffee4
  • Repeat these steps until all ingredients are mixed into a lovely creamy battercoffee5
  • Spoon the mixture into the cupcake cases and bake for about 25 minutes until golden browncoffee6
  • Leave to cool and mix up your coffee buttercream icingcoffee8
  • In a mixing bowl, mix together the butter, milk, espresso powder and half the icing sugar
  • Gradually add the rest of the icing sugar until you have a smooth consistencycoffee9
  • Once the cupcakes have cooled, pipe on the icing sugar and enjoy with a big cup of coffee!

coffee15

coffee10

I made these for Easter, hence the chick cupcake toppers!

coffee14 coffee16

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. I LOVE coffee cake, but never make it- and I have NO idea why. These look amazing, might have to give them a go! x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

