RSS Feed

Recipe – Lemon Pasta with Chicken and Artichokes

Well, after teasing us all with a few days of sun it is bloody snowing again! I am back in thermal socks and getting through the day with lots of cups of tea.

I spent yesterday with my best friend which was lovely. She introduced me to an amazing little pizza place but unfortunately we were defeated by the two we ordered and ended up taking our leftovers home!

pasta13

Today’s recipe is a fresh, tasty pasta dish that is quick to prepare for a light dinner through the week. Artichokes are one of Ian’s favourite vegetables and we always have a jar of them in the cupboard to add to salads or on top of a pizza.

Ingredients

A good glug of olive oil

4-5 shallots, chopped

2 chicken breasts, chopped into bite sized pieces

Salt and pepper

A pinch of chili flakes

Half a jar of marinated artichoke hearts, about 100g

1 clove of garlic, finely chopped

A handful of fresh parsley, chopped

Enough pasta for two people – I used spaghetti

1 lemon (you will need the juice and zest)

How to make it

  • Cook your pasta in a large pan of boiling water until al dente
  • While the pasta is cooking, heat your oil in a large frying pan on a medium heat and add the shallotspasta12
  • Cook for 5 minutes until they have started to soften
  • Season your pieces of chicken breasts well then add them to the pan with the chili flakes
  • When the chicken has started to brown, add the artichokes, garlic and parsley and cook for about 5 minutes until the chicken is cooked throughpasta1
  • Add the lemon zest to the pan and stir well
  • Add your cooked pasta to the pan
  • Squeeze over the lemon juice and then serve whilst hotpasta5
  • I had mine with a little sprinkling of Parmesan and a large glass of red!pasta6
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

3 responses »

  1. This sounds delicious!! Love lemon in savoury things, I may have to try this. I’d probably add a good handful of peas too, but it looks perfect as is! x

    Reply
  2. I’m with you, I woke up to rain drumming on the roof this morning. I want the sun back! Looks like a delicious dinner you cooked, especially with all of the Parmesan!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

