RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – Nude and Gems

Hello! Today I am posting another double review as I try out a couple of new products.

nude17

I was tempted by a free shipping weekend on the ELF website and recently ordered lots of new items to try out, some of which I will review on here soon. I am a fan of their nail varnishes so bought a few new shades. I think they have a great selection of colours and they are decent quality for the price.

I have been after a few more nude shades for my collection and when I saw this gorgeous taupe colour I had to pop it in my basket!

nude12

It is called ‘Smokey Brown’ and is a lovely light brown shade, with a hint of grey – slightly sludgy but in a good way! Here it is after two coats:

nude11

To decorate my nails I decided to open these nail art pens that I picked up recently at Primark for just £2.

nude16

They are kind of like a 3-in-1 product because they have a thin brush for drawing designs, stripes and chevrons, an extra-fine precision pen for dotting and some nail gems.

nude14 nude13

Today, I decided to use some of the nail gems. They were slightly fiddly to place but that may just be down to the fact that I don’t have a very steady hand!

nude15

I had a look at some of my favourite nail blogs for inspiration and tried out a few different looks.

nude9

nude4

nude1

I think my favourite effect is the simple line of gems down the middle of the nail.

I’m not sure how practical this look is (I predict at least one gem will have fallen off by the end of the day!) but for a night out, this looks rather glam and is very easy to do.

nude6

I’m off to enjoy the sunshine and spend the day with my bestie xxx

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

Leave a Reply

