RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – Ice Cream Speckles

I was woken up this morning by the sun streaming through our bedroom window…finally! My daffodils in the garden seem like they are just waiting for a slightly warmer day so they can bloom and I too am itching to get outside and start planting veggies!

This week’s nail varnish definitely wins the prize for the prettiest polish in my ever-growing collection:

eh1

Look how pretty the ice cream style packaging is!

eh2

This beautiful speckled pink colour is from a Korean brand called Etude House who offer a range of makeup and beauty products and are very popular with girls who love the whole Hello Kitty/ cute packaging thing!

I found this on ebay for less than a fiver and have to admit that the packaging won me over but I also love the speckled formula which seems to be a trend that is just getting more and more popular this season.

As an aside, I was also very pleased to get two lovely samples when I received my nail varnish; an Etude House Cherry Tint and a Papaya Peeling Mask by The Face Shop. Unfortunately, my Korean is a bit rusty so I’m not entirely sure about the application of either product but I’m sure a bit of googling will help me out!

eh11

Anyway, onto the nails…

eh3

I chose the shade ‘Strawberry Stars Candy’ as I don’t have a pretty pink/ purple pastel colour and this seemed lovely for Spring and Summer.

I did need 3 coats for full opacity as the formula was quite thin but there were lots of pieces of glitter in the product meaning I could build up lots of layers. The colour itself contains a slight glitter too.

eh5

The ‘speckles’ in the formula are varied meaning every nail will look unique and included blue, purple, pink and grey pieces in square, circle and star shapes, some shiny and some matte. There were some lovely mini white stars in the formula too but I couldn’t seem to get one on the end of my brush!

eh6

I gave this a clear top coat to seal the look and I love the final effect. I think it is an excellent alternative for the pricey Illamasqua speckled nail varnish and you still get that cute ‘mini egg’ finish.

eh10

Right, I’m off to get ready for our weekend away…anyone want to come and pack for me?!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. This is so cute! I’ve been eyeing up the illamsqua speckled polishes but just can’t afford such things, so this seems like a very cute alternative! I hate packing so shall definitely not be volunteering!

    Lauren x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

