RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – The Castle Inn, Bradford-on-Avon

Well, it’s the first proper day of my Easter holidays and despite my plans for a relaxing morning, my body clock was wide awake at 6am so I was up nice and early today!

It is snowing outside as I type this, although not settling. Ian and I have booked a romantic break over the Easter weekend to visit Harrogate and York and I am hoping the weather doesn’t get in the way of our plans!

Today, I wanted to share one of our local pubs which is fast becoming a favourite of ours, having been there two weekends running. The Castle Inn sits at the top of the hill overlooking the gorgeous Cotswold town of Bradford-on-Avon.

Although a bit tricky for parking, this Georgian building is lovely and there is a small beer garden for warmer months.

castle5

Inside, it is classic country-chic with slate flooring, exposed beams, big open fireplaces and comfortable mis-matched leather chairs.

castle6

We went for Sunday lunch yesterday, having heard good things about their Sunday Roasts. Now, I don’t really like going out for a Sunday dinner simply because I am so fussy about certain components and I think Ian and I make a pretty delicious one between us! However, neither of us really fancied going shopping, chopping and prepping then washing up all afternoon so we gave lunch a try here…and I am so glad we did!

After a his ‘n’ hers ale to start and a read of the Sunday papers, we ordered one Roast Sirloin of West Country Beef and one Roasted Royal Windsor Pork Belly.

castle3

My pork was delicious and, having skipped breakfast, I was pleased to see the portions were very generous!

I had 4 good slices of moist roast pork, a big Yorkshire pudding (I always serve these with my roast dinners and never just confine them to beef!), roasted root vegetables, some chunky roast potatoes and the most amazing pickled red cabbage. The pork was slightly fatty in places but there was enough pork to not really mind. I have to say I wasn’t too keen on the roast potatoes – I like mine much crispier – but, for me, the star of the show was the red cabbage.

castle4

Ian had the beef, which was another generous amount of meat, served rare and it was deliciously tender.

castle1

Suffice to say we were both stuffed after this lunch and neither of us could manage pudding, which was a shame as I noticed the most delicious looking warm chocolate brownies on the table next to us!

The Castle Inn offers four different Roast Dinners every Sunday, costing between £9-12. The atmosphere here is lovely and relaxed and the food was excellent. They offer small grazing plates too and Ian and I have already decided to go back soon and sample these sharing bites.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

