RSS Feed

Recipe – Harissa Chicken

Well it has been a cold, wet and miserable day here in the West Country…so much for Spring being on its way!

My way of counteracting this horrible weather outside is to make my house smell delicious inside so as soon as I got in I baked! Today, it was carrot and orange cupcakes, which are currently cooling on the side, and it was like therapy for me as I now feel happier and cosier.

Today’s recipe features Harissa, an ingredient which is fast becoming a cupboard staple for me, much like pesto is for a quick pasta dish. This jar of spicy North-African  paste contains peppers, chillies, garlic, cumin and coriander to name but a few ingredients and packs a punch when added to different recipes.

harissa9

I decided to mellow the heat from the chillies by mixing the Harissa paste with natural yogurt to make a lovely, flavoured rub for some chicken breasts. Wanting to keep the washing up to a minimum, I threw in some vegetables to the oven tray the chicken was roasting in and ended up with a delicious piece of chicken complete with roasted veggies on the side!

As with all rubs and marinades, the flavour will always be more intense if you allow the meat to sit in the marinade for at least an hour.

Ingredients

3 teaspoons of Harissa paste

150g of natural yogurt

2 chicken breasts, scored a few times with a sharp knife

Vegetables for roasting (I used an onion and a courgette)

Olive oil

Salt and pepper

How to make it

  • Begin by mixing together the Harissa paste and yogurt and rub this all over the chicken breasts. Leave to marinade for a few hoursharissa8
  • Preheat your oven to 190°C, Gas Mark 5
  • Place your vegetables on a roasting tray and drizzle with olive oil. Season well, give the tray a shake and then bake for 10-15 minutesharissa5
  • Now add your chicken breasts to the oven tray and spoon the remaining Harissa marinade over the topharissa3
  • Roast for 20-25 minutes until the chicken and vegetables are cooked
  • Serve with a spoonful of natural yogurt on the side and enjoy!harissa1
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

