RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – Red Lace

This is another 2-in-1 product post as I had a chance to try out two new items for this nail art post.

lace14

First up is another high-shine glossy nail varnish from Barry M’s Gelly range in the shade ‘Blood Orange’. I have already written about how much I love these nail varnishes and I fear I may have to purchase the whole lot as the application, shine and wear of them are great.

lace18

The shade is a vibrant, bright red. Here it is after one coat, which I was pretty pleased with.

lace17

But here it is after a second coat and as you can see it is much more glossy and has a lovely gel-like shine to it. With a second coat, the colour darkened slightly and I think it is a great classic red shade to have in your collection.

lace16

Whilst I love experimenting with nail art, I think I had forgotten just how classic plain red nails look so I did keep my nails like this for a few days but after a DT session with my class, which included saws, sandpaper and glue-guns, I had to do a touch-up mid-week so decided to try out my new nail wraps.

These nail wraps by Le Glow were a real bargain and, whilst not flowery, reminded me of a lace-like pattern, hence the title of today’s post.

lace12

I liked them because, unlike the other nail wraps I own, these are partly see-through meaning I can create lots of different looks depending on the base coat I apply underneath them.

lace11

I began by cutting the strips to the correct length for my nails. I found that one strip would actually cover two nails if I cut it in half which meant I in effect doubled my usage from this pack…one benefit of having small, short nails I guess!

lace8

These nail wraps were not really very sticky but I actually liked this as it meant I could keep repositioning them until I had them exactly where I wanted them on the nails.

Seeing as the adhesive was quite weak, I sealed the nail wraps with a few layers of a clear topcoat and here they are…

lace5

I think they are very effective and offer a unique but very wearable look. I am looking forward to using them with different base coats too and I will keep my eyes open for other nail wraps by this brand.

lace3

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: This Week’s Nails – Leopard Print Foils | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

