RSS Feed

Recipe – Amaretto and Raspberry Cake

So, I mentioned earlier in a week that I was trying to be good with my meals lately but this seems to have gone out of the window in the last few days. I somehow managed to have a bag of mini eggs before going out for a curry and now I am bringing you this cake recipe! Oh well…life is much too short not to have the occasional treat!

cake3

I have to say that this cake recipe is pretty amazing and is already in my favourites to make and eat! I love anything with amaretto in and the fresh raspberries add a bit of fruitiness and you can claim you are having one of your five a day as you tuck in.

cake18

I made this cake as a way to use up a tin of amaretti biscuits that have been sat on the side next to our coffee maker since I bought them for Ian at Christmas. So far, I have been having one on my saucer every time I have an espresso but I knew we wouldn’t get through them all before they started to lose some of their freshness. I think the tin the biscuits came in is gorgeous so I am pleased I can find a place for this now too!

cake16

Ingredients

175g of butter or margarine, at room temperature

175g of golden caster sugar

3 eggs

145g of self-raising flour

85g of ground almonds

130g of amaretti biscuits, bashed up so you have some large and small pieces

200g of raspberries

How to make it

  • Begin by greasing a sandwich tin and preheating your oven to 140°, Gas Mark 3
  • In a mixing bowl, cream together the butter and sugar
  • Add the eggs, flour and ground almonds and mix well
  • Spoon half of the mixture into the sandwich tin and spread it evenlycake13
  • Sprinkle over half of the amaretti biscuits and half of the raspberries
  • Spoon over the remainder of the cake mix – don’t worry if this bit doesn’t look perfect…I call it rustic!cake12
  • Scatter over the rest of the biscuits and raspberriescake11
  • Bake for about 70 minutes or until the cake it golden brown and cooked throughoutcake9
  • This is delicious warm or sliced and served cold the next daycake5

If you fancy a spot of baking this weekend, I promise this cake will be a triumph!

I’m spending the evening watching Comic Relief which will no doubt include a few tears but hopefully laughs too! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

