RSS Feed

Recipe – Stuffed Butternut Squash

Another recipe for you today, this time a little bit healthier than all the cakes I have made lately…although as I type this there is an amaretto and raspberry cake baking in the oven! Haha

I imagine some of you, like me, are starting to look forward to the change in seasons and the new fruit and vegetables that will be available. Hopefully you aren’t too sick of the heartier winter vegetables but if you are then this is a fresh way of serving a butternut squash.

This vegetable can be a bit of a pain to prepare and I can rarely be bothered with the peeling, deseeding and chopping involved – actually, I quite often have to call Ian in for some extra muscle when battling with one of these! However, chopping it in half and stuffing it with something delicious is a whole different kettle of fish and keeps things nice and simple!

bns4

This is another recipe that can be adapted to suit what you have in your vegetable basket and likewise if you aren’t too keen on goat’s cheese (I’m thinking of you Cat!) then simply substitute it for Parmesan, feta, cheddar or stilton…it’s up to you!

As a side note, I am currently following the Weight Watcher’s programme again which is a ‘diet’ I keep coming back to when I start to notice the pounds creeping on. I’m not sticking to it religiously but I do use it to help me be good through the week to allow for the occasional foodie weekend of takeaways and restaurant visits! Anyway, I was very pleased to see that the butternut squash is a vegetable which is one of my ‘free points’ foods meaning I can have as much of it as I want! Therefore, this dish is becoming a staple in our house through the week!

Right, onto the details…

Ingredients

1 butternut squash

Good quality olive oil

A pinch of chilli flakes

A pinch of dried mixed herbs

1 clove of garlic, crushed

Salt and pepper

Half an onion, chopped

1 courgette, chopped

A handful of cherry tomatoes, halved

About 100g of goats cheese

How to make it

  • Begin by preheating your oven to 200°C, Gas Mark 5/6
  • Cut your butternut squash in half and scoop out the seeds
  • With a sharp knife, score the squash in a criss-cross patternbns5
  • Drizzle over a good glug of olive oil then add the chilli flakes, mixed herbs, garlic and season wellbns7
  • Bake for about half an hour until the flesh is tender – for bigger squashes, you may need another 10-15 minutesbns8
  • Meanwhile, pop your onion, courgette and cherry tomatoes in an ovenproof dish, drizzle over some oil and season well. Roast these alongside the butternut squash for about half an hourbns3
  • When the butternut squash is tender, place the roasted vegetables over the top and scatter pieces of goats cheese over it allbns9
  • Roast for another 10 minutes until the cheese is goldenbns1

I found that this was filling enough as a main course with some salad, but it would make a delicious side dish too!

bns11

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

