RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – Barry M Croc Effect

This week’s new nail varnish is another present from my beloved – Barry M’s Croc Effect Nail Varnish retailing at £3.99.

croc18

Similar to the shatter/ crackle effect nail varnish, which lots of cosmetics companies now do a version of, this is another top coat which shrinks to reveal a nail colour underneath but the selling point of this nail varnish is that it will leave behind a croc print.

I was intrigued by this as I am fan of the shatter effect nail varnishes so wondered how this one would turn out.

croc19

I decided to use a nude shade by e.l.f as my base coat and thought it would give quite a reptilian effect when teamed with the black top coat.

croc6

The first difference I noticed between this nail varnish and the shatter effect one was how long it took to work! At first, I thought I had applied it incorrectly because where as the shatter effect is pretty instant and dries within a minute or so, this croc effect nail varnish took about 3 or 4 minutes to get going.

Here it is immediately after application:croc2

2 minutes later and just starting to crackle at the edges:croc3

4 minutes later and halfway done:croc1

5 minutes later…done!croc15

I found that the thinner the layer of croc effect nail varnish, the smaller the shapes were. I painted mine on in quite a thick layer and liked the bigger shapes it left behind.

croc5

I thought it would be interesting to look at the two Barry M products next to each other; the croc then the shatter effect, to compare the finishes.

croc9 IMG_0412

The main differences I found were that the croc effect had a much more circular finish and was quite glossy when it had dried whereas the shatter effect nail varnish created a linear design and had a matte finish…but please don’t ask me about the science behind it!

croc8

I have to say that I was very pleased with the results and would be keen to experiment with different nail colours and designs. With this croc effect top coat, every nail is unique and some of them have dried in really interesting patterns…what do you think?

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

