RSS Feed

Table Makeover

Whenever I have a week off from school, I like to set myself a little project to complete around the home. The latest was a mini-makeover of our dining table.

I think the kitchen table is the heart of the home. It’s where I write my blog, do a lot of my work from and most importantly it’s where we eat! I love having a table full of friends and family tucking into a delicious meal and chatting away, so I wanted a really lovely dining area in our house where people would want to spend time together.

As you can see, there was nothing wrong with the table before but, paired with the 6 chairs, it all just looked a bit too ‘pine’ so I wanted to do something that would break this up.

table12

My grand plan for the kitchen and dining area in our house is very much a ‘country kitchen’ look, with lots of vintage elements. In magazines and on style blogs, lots of these kitchens had pine tables with white or cream legs and I thought this look would go perfectly in our dining area, without having to fork out for a new table.

table3

I did this over three days so it is a nice weekend job if you fancy a quick transformation.

I began by giving the legs a quick rub down with some sandpaper to remove any lumps and bumps and to give my paint a good base to hold on to.

table11

I then gave them a quick wipe down with a damp cloth to get rid of any dust and, knowing I don’t have a particularly steady hand, I applied some masking tape along the underneath of the table so I didn’t get paint anywhere it shouldn’t be!

table9

table7

My first layer of paint was a white wood undercoat…

table13

…and then it was time to try and wrestle the lid off my chosen tin of paint!

table14

I decided on an off-white colour called ‘antique cream’ and needed 2 coats for a nice even coverage.

table1

table4

I was contemplating a more shabby-chic look by rubbing down the wood a bit more but for now I will leave the table like this. My attention has now turned to the chairs so I am back online researching some ideas for my next project!

table15 table16

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: Kitchen Dresser Makeover | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

