RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – “Concrete Effect”

I am fully in back-to-work mode now and the only thing making it slightly easier to get going in the mornings is knowing that I am leaving the house and getting home again while it is still light!

It is still pretty chilly but there are signs that spring is just around the corner…

photoz

Talking of our house, I arrived home yesterday to this:

photo photos

We are having some work done around our windows which is pricey but something we knew would have to be addressed sooner or later. Luckily, my Mum is staying for a few days so is keeping the builders happy with lots of coffee and cake!

This week’s nails are very on trend for 2013. It seems to me as though almost any colour goes for this season but it is all about textured nail varnishes. You can currently buy leather-effect, matte-effect, velvet-effect, croc-effect, speckled-effect, gel-effect and one of the most popular is concrete-effect nail varnish…phew!

This concrete-effect version from Barry M is not actually on sale yet but Ian managed to get me some from under the counter by speaking very nicely to the assistant at Boots!

concrete3

The shade I am wearing is called Ridley Road and two coats gave a lovely even coverage. It actually goes on like a normal nail varnish then dries to this unique, matte texture.

concrete6

If you don’t have the steadiest hand then this is the nail varnish for you as it is difficult to spot any mistakes you make applying it when it dries!

concrete4

I love the colour of this polish and think the playful, pastel mint-green works well with the tough, urban finish of the nail varnish.

This range, which is set for release in Spring 2013, comes in four pastel shades; the mint green (pictured here), a pale pink, a baby blue and a lemon-yellow colour. I really don’t like the yellow shade but I have to say I am quite tempted to buy the pink and blue ones.

concrete5

In terms of durability, I have been wearing this nail varnish for 6 days and have had one chip in my nail, which I salvaged by doing a quick touch-up. The bumpy effect is still there and I have had lots of compliments.

concrete10

I have recently bought a whole range of textured nail varnishes which I will be testing and writing about over the next few weeks so if you do like this trend then watch this space!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

