RSS Feed

Icing Cakes

Following my Valentine’s Day Cupcakes post last week, I had several messages from people asking me to do a ‘How-To’ on icing cupcakes.

Now, I’m not ready for vlogging (that’s ‘video blogging’ for those of you not down with the blogging kids!) and I also don’t count myself as that much of an expert, but I will share some tips:

icing6

Firstly, invest in a good set of icing equipment. A lovely starter kit, which I often use, is this Icing Bag Set by one of my favourite kitchen companies, Tala. This includes an icing bag, 8 different nozzles and a handy booklet giving you some help on what looks you can achieve.

icing9

Secondly, discover what you like! Have a look through your baking books, some baking blogs and Pinterest to see what styles you like and want to try and replicate.

Thirdly, watch some online tutorials. There are loads on youtube and you can go as basic or advanced as you want to!

Finally, experiment! Not only is this useful but it’s really fun too. Remember you won’t get the hang of this on your first attempt so keep practicing and experimenting. One thing I do is use a blank surface, a chopping board or a slice of bread, to have a practice on.

icing1

It may seem crazy at first but it means you don’t have to keep wiping the icing off your cakes to start again if you make a mistake.

icing5

When you feel a bit more confident using your icing bag, then it is time to have a go on your cakes…

vday19

This rose effect is achieved by starting in the middle of your cupcake and then icing outwards in a circle.

vday17

You can get a similar effect by starting on the outside and working inwards too.

vday21

The little ‘iced gems’ effect is a simple squeeze-and-push motion with your piping bag – it sounds tricky but trust me, it is easy once you have done a few of them.

vday24

And my final piece of advice…

vday30

If you can’t quite get the hang of perfect cupcakes then simple cover them with glitter/ food pearls/ cake toppers/ hundreds and thousands and nobody will ever know!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

