RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – Floral Nail Wraps

Hello and Happy Valentine’s Day! I am starting today with having one of my Valentine’s cupcakes for breakfast and I wish I could say I felt guilty about it but I don’t!

I popped in to Primark last weekend in Plymouth and saw that they had started selling nail wraps. I have only tried these once, with mixed results, but I thought that, seeing as they were only £1, it was worth giving them another go.

The ones I am using today are a black foil wrap with a vintage-style floral pattern printed on them. I love the Cath Kidston-effect nails some beauty bloggers are able to achieve but I don’t have a very steady hand or any sort of artistic streak so I am willing to cheat to get the results I want!

nails15

These are a bit fiddly and took a bit of getting used to but, with a bit of practice, they aren’t too hard to get the hang of and I will definitely be using them again.

nails4

I will say that, being right-handed, I could only manage doing one nail wrap on my right hand as it was just too fiddly trying to trim the foil using my left hand so it would be handy if you could rope in your partner/ friend/ Mum to give you a hand with this part.

To achieve this look you will need:

nails16

1 pack of nail wraps

A nail file

Nail scissors

A clear top coat (optional)

  • Make sure your nails are clean, dry and free from any nail varnish before you start
  • Decide which size nail foil is going to be the best fit for your nail and roughly cut it to the correct lengthnails14
  • Place it carefully on your nail and trim it using the nail scissorsnails13
  • The edges may still be a bit rough so file them down until smooth with the nail filenails11
  • Some of the nail wraps were puckering slightly at the edge of my fingers so I sealed them with a layer of clear top coat, in the hope that it might give me an extra few days of this manicure too!

I decided to do a reverse version of this manicure on each hand so you could see the effect of having almost the whole hand decorated with the nail wraps or just one feature finger, which is a more subtle way of working this trend and one I will probably use for work.

nails7

nails6

nails9

I painted my wrap-free nails with ‘Fire Coral’ from e.l.f to pick out the coral pinks in the nail wrap design, but a pale pink or pastel blue would work just as well.

nails8

nails10

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

