RSS Feed

Support Your Local Farmers’ Market!

January always feels like a long month after Christmas and New Year celebrations, but here we are in February, which means it’s half-term soon and I have two weekends away to look forward to!

I have been fighting a cold for the past few days so plan on having a nice, relaxing weekend seeing some friends and family with a long lie-in tomorrow.

Last weekend, taking advantage of some sunshine, Ian and I popped in to Bradford-on-Avon to our local Farmers’ Market.

This is one of my favourite ways to spend a leisurely Sunday morning, enjoying the variety of sights, smells and (hopefully!) tasters of locally grown food.

farmer5

Not only is this a fantastic way to support small, local businesses and producers but you get an amazing selection of seasonal food that often isn’t available in the supermarkets.

Whenever Ian and I go away, I always try to hunt out a food festival or market to browse through and, without fail, make a few foodie purchases. I especially love doing this when we are abroad to get a real feel for the people, food and culture.

CIMG1639

I was relatively restrained during this visit and just came away with some pastries for breakfast the next morning:

farmer4

And a delicious new cow’s milk cheese, called Wasabi Pearl:

farmer3

Made by The Old Cheese Room, based in Wiltshire, this ball of cheese is deliciously creamy with a hint of spicy wasabi throughout. It was very tasty on some poppy seed crackers.

farmer2

farmer1

We are lucky in the South-West to have some excellent food producers and several food festivals throughout the year. I know it is usually more convenient and sometimes cheaper to get everything during one visit to the supermarket but keep your eyes peeled for your local food market and treat yourself to a stroll and some goodies…you won’t regret it!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

