RSS Feed

Cookbook Corner – The Primrose Bakery Book

This has been my first ‘Cookbook Corner’ post for a little while which probably reflects the fact that I am trying to curb my cookbook habit! I am also finding foodie inspiration in different places, such as all the lovely food blogs I follow as well as continuing to experiment with new ingredients and products I see on the shelves and online.

So, it has to be quite a special recipe book to make me want to squeeze it on to my already-full recipe book shelves (yes, that is shelves in the plural!) and I am happy to say that The Primrose Bakery Book made the cut!

primrose6

Currently available at a bargain prie of just £7 from The Book People (who visit lots of schools and other businesses with a variety of different books to browse through before buying), I couldn’t resist this pretty offering.

There are two Primrose Bakeries in London, to be found in Covent Garden and Primrose Hill (it is on my list to visit during a trip to London next month!), and they are renowned for their lovely cupcakes. However, this book is following on from the first recipe book, ‘Cupcakes from the Primrose Bakery’, aiming to show that there is more to this brand than just good cupcakes…and let’s be frank; if you haven’t mastered a good cupcake by now then don’t bother!

primrose5

The book does start with some new cupcake recipes, such as Violet, Green Tea and Raspberry Coconut Ice. All sound delicious and are beautifully photographed.

primrose2

Next up are chapters on Breakfasts, Layer Cakes, Loaves and Slices and Biscuits, which include the cutest sausage dog biscuits! The book finishes up with some Wedding Cake ideas and some useful Tips and Techniques.

primrose3

On the whole, it is a really inspiring book, not simply sticking to cupcakes. Everything looks absolutely delicious and not too difficult to make. I also think they have got the balance right between classic recipes and more modern, inventive ones.

primrose1

The hardest thing for me is going to be picking which cake to make first!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

