RSS Feed

Joe and Seph’s Gourmet Popcorn

Hello and welcome to what is my 300th blog post!

I had a mini snow day, having had another flurry of the white stuff last night and not being able to get either of our cars off the drive this morning!

My Dad is staying with us for a few days of cooking and DIY. Last night, it was a huge pan of fresh mussels:

pop1

We are still adding the finishing touches to our bathroom but I am pleased to say we are getting onto the fun stuff now and ordering the finishing touches, such as these gorgeous Cath Kidston floor tiles:

pop4

I also went a bit mad ordering towels!

photo5

You may have noticed that ‘Posh Popcorn’ is slowly becoming more popular and arguably the leaders in this new and exciting food trend are the company Joe and Seph.

I first reviewed a bag of their savoury popcorn in Goat’s Cheese and Black Pepper flavour way back in 2011 and since then the brand has gone from strength to strength and has continued to develop more and more exciting flavours.

When I went to the BBC Good Food show with my friend Cat last year, Joe and Seph had a stall there and I kept going back for more tasters from their range and couldn’t find one I didn’t like.

I recently got to try one of the sweet popcorns thanks to a gift from a very generous house guest (cheers Lucie!)

The flavour I tried was Caramel Macchiato with Scotch Whiskey.

pop3

As soon as I opened the bag, I was hit with the smell of coffee and a sweet toffee-like note.

Each piece of popcorn is generously coated and when you bite into them there is a lovely crunch then you are hit by the combination of flavours.

I have to say that this popcorn is seriously amazing.  I tried to make it last but just couldn’t stop going back in for another handful!

This next statement sounds fairly obvious but the flavours were exactly as the packet promised. What I mean by this is that there was none of that artificial coffee taste – the popcorn really did carry the deep, rich flavour of good quality coffee. The caramel wasn’t the sickly, sweet stuff that makes your teeth stick together but instead added a lovely toffee taste, complemented by a slight hint of smoky whisky.

I had a quick look on Joe and Seph’s website and there are an amazing range of flavours available, including ‘Gingerbread’, ‘Caramel, Coconut and Cinnamon’, ‘Peanut Butter’ and ‘Lemon and Poppy Seed’…my mouth is watering just writing this!

As previously mentioned, there are savoury flavours available too and I fancy trying the Caramel, Mirin, Soy and Sesame flavour next to see if they managed to get that balance right between the sweet and umami flavours.

Given the high quality ingredients that are clearly used, these bags of popcorn don’t come too cheap at £4 a bag. However, the website is currently selling 6 pouches for just under £20, with free delivery. If you fancy trying a bit of everything then I love the look of their 6 mini bags for £12, which include many of the flavours mentioned above.

I think this ‘Posh Popcorn’ trend is here to stay and I hope we continue to see more delicious flavour combinations. Bring a few bags of these out next time you have a film night and your guests won’t know what’s hit them!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

